Can USA handle the Guatanamo Bay Naval base?

Today I found an interesting page on the Internet, when I searched for information about Barack Obama. The journalist and historian Andy Worthington wrote that Obama has recently request Europe and EU to take care of a number of prisoners from Guatanamo Bay Naval base. Andy Worthington is, as I wrote, a journalist and historian, based in London. He is also the author of The Guatanamo Files, the first book to tell the stories of all the detainees in America’s illegal prison. With that, I consider this source as trustworthy since he is well read in this subject. And this wasn’t something new for me; I have heard Obama’s wish about the prison before.

I found a quote from Sara Ludford, a British baroness who is a Liberal Democrat member of the House of Lords. She said, “It is time for Europe to muster the political will and help America finally close this shameful chapter of history…digging the Americans out of the hole that they dug themselves into”. I actually think it is remarkable brazenly; it feels like the USA should take care of their mess and not roll over their problems to Europe.
       The reason why I chose this particular story is that I am interested about what Obama means with his key word Change. I did a comprehensive piece of work about him before the election, and one thing I liked about him was that he promised to close Guatanamo, but he never told us how. Is the answer to roll over the problem to other countries, and just say, “This is not only the USA’s responsibility, it is yours to”?  

In point of fact don’t have any expectations on Obama, even though I really think that it is a success for the world that the Americans has chosen an afro-American for president. A view that I probably share with the whole wide world. It perhaps means a great deal for a nation that has characterized of racism before, but a change in the American politic towards the world? No, absolute not yet.               

  

(http://www.andyworthington.co.uk/2008/12/16/will-europe-take-the-cleared-guantanamo-prisoners/)

One Response to “Can USA handle the Guatanamo Bay Naval base?”

  1. Sara Says:

    Great Sara. You write very well and you have interesting comments and sophisticated language. Very good critical comments on your source too.
    It will be interesting to see the reaction to this, from the European countries. I hope you follow it up in your next blog posts, which I am looking forward to reading.

Leave a Reply

